FOOD

11 products that oddly contain animal protein

1. The false friends of veggies!

In the top 5 of the most protein foods, we find: meat, eggs, dairy products, poultry, and fish. Great classics  ! We would almost forget that in everyday food, “protein” does not necessarily rhyme with “animal”. Yes: proteins are also found in cereals, legumes, and vegetable products such as tofu or tempeh.

But hey, at least when you’re vegetarian, vegan or vegan, you generally know which products to zap from your diet to avoid ingesting animal protein.

Uh, really? We would not want to play the killjoy, but in reality, there are many foods and products (food, but not only!) that we would not suspect and which contain, quite unexpectedly, animal proteins . In the top 5 of the most protein foods, we find: meat, eggs, dairy products, poultry, and fish. Great classics  ! We would almost forget that in everyday food “protein” does not necessarily rhyme with “animal”. Yes: proteins are also found in cereals, legumes, and vegetable products such as tofu or tempeh.

But hey, at least when you’re vegetarian, vegan or vegan, you generally know which products to zap from your diet to avoid ingesting animal protein.

Uh, really? We wouldn’t want to play the killjoy, but in reality, there are many foods and products (food, but not only!) that we wouldn’t suspect and which contain, quite unexpectedly, animal proteins. . animevibesw presents 10 of them!

2. Beer

Notice to vegetarians who like to raise their elbows with a good pint of beer to quench their thirst: some beers (and even some wines, sniff!) contain isinglass, a type of gelatin known by the sweet name of “fish glue” , and which allows manufacturers to clarify their alcoholic beverages.

And that’s not all: to offer us beers and wine of good quality, between the fermentation period of the alcohol and the bottling, the manufacturers use during the refining of the alcohol agents such as casein (protein found in milk) and egg white.

Morality: without alcohol, the party is not only crazier, but also more veggie!

3. Sweets

It’s not just for children’s teeth that sweets are dangerous: for people who don’t eat meat too! Yes: many sweets contain gelatin. A pure protein of animal origin, which is obtained by extracting and cooking the collagen contained in the skin, bones, muscles and tissues of animals. In the candy industry, gelatin is indeed used for its gelling, binding and thickening properties.

Which means that if our candies are so creamy and gooey, it’s partly thanks to beef and pork fat. Yum yum!

4. Peanuts

Ah, what would the aperitif be without the endless peanuts that go with it? Well…simply lighter, and vegetarian maybe?

Indeed, many manufacturers – especially those who market “dry roasted” peanuts – use gelatin so that the salt and spices that coat the peanuts can hold well and do not remain in the bottom of the package.

Hmmm, good peanuts with gelatin, with a small glass of beer full of fish glue, here is a perfect aperitif when you are vegetarian!

5. Industrial rolls

When you don’t have time to go buy your milk roll at the bakery in the morning, you often opt for a roll or an industrial pastry lying around in your cupboards. It’s true that to help out when you’re in a hurry, it’s super practical.

On the other hand, bad news: some industrial cakes or breads contain L-Cysteine, a flavor enhancer highly prized by manufacturers, and which is actually a derivative… of human hair or duck feathers.

Uh, even when you’re not a vegetarian, it’s just disgusting, isn’t it?! It’s up to us to read the labels of the products we buy carefully to avoid eating poultry feathers…

6. Certain vanilla products

When you eat a vanilla biscuit, you appreciate its sweet and mild flavor, and you imagine yourself in a large vanilla field in Madagascar. Uh, we wouldn’t want to play the killjoy… but in reality, many industrialists do not hesitate to replace in cakes (or yogurts, ice creams, etc.) the natural flavor of vanilla with castoreum .

A very animal substance, since it is actually… a hormonal secretion emitted by the beaver via a gland located between its penis and its anus . He uses it in particular to mark his territory. Here here…

So certainly, this substance has a super good taste of vanilla, but still…!

7. Sugar

Some producers, to make their white sugar even whiter, pour in a product called “animal black” , which perfectly filters out the small impurities that the sugar may contain before being packaged.

Unfortunately, animal charcoal (also known as animal charcoal, or bone charcoal), is a product obtained by burning at very high temperatures… bovine bones.

So, to be sure to buy sugar without animal protein, it is better to:

  • Opt for unrefined sugar such as organic sugar,
  • Or read the sugar label carefully before putting it in your shopping cart!

8. Omega-3 enriched Product

We know it well: Omega-3s are healthy fatty acids, which notably help to fight against bad cholesterol (LDL) and reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease. So, whether you are vegetarian or not, you think that buying vegetable oil (or any product) enriched with Omega-3 is really a good idea.

Except that… in most cases, these Omega-3s come straight… from our friends the fish . As a result, our vegetable oil enriched with Omega-3 remains good for our heart, but contains traces of sardines or salmon. Oops, better read the label…

9. Some capsule medications

It is no coincidence that the word “capsule” is semantically close to .

So to avoid consuming animal proteins without wanting to, the next time you go to the pharmacy to buy painkillers or a tablet for headaches, make sure to ask for effervescent pastilles, or tablets with let melt under the tongue. But no capsules!

10. Toothpaste

Why are more and more vegetarians or vegans starting to make their own toothpaste?

Perhaps because one out of every two toothpastes on the market contains… pork gelatin. Yes: thanks to gelatin, the toothpaste has a good hold and a more pleasant texture.

And when you’re vegetarian, finishing a meal without meat by brushing your teeth with a product that contains a protein from the bones or cartilage of a pig, it’s not really the best!

Once again, a good deciphering of the label is essential!

11. The coffee table in the living room

What do a wooden coffee table and a piece of ground beef have in common? Well both surely contain… meat!

Incredible, but true: many wooden objects are today assembled with a glue obtained from the bones, cartilages and skin of animals – hence the dreamy name, “bone glue”. .

Well, even if vegetarians are no more willing than carnivores to devour their coffee table, when you’re vegan and you refuse to buy anything near or far related to animal exploitation, it’s good to know!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button